v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Support for usage of MWconn
Forumsregeln
In most fault cases it is necessary to create a Service Log
Antworten
sunrk
Beiträge: 5
Registriert: Do 4. Jun 2009, 09:14
Wohnort: Wollombi/Laguna, NSW .au

v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von sunrk » Fr 24. Feb 2012, 11:05

I am using mwconn successfully with my e169 modem and my Panasonic toughbook cf18 when out and about including at work, but I've recently had my fixed-line DSL model fry in a thunderstorm and have tried using the e169 with another toughbook (a CF29) that I use as desktop PC.

I installed mwconn v5.7 and have copied the settings exactly as I had the configured in the other system. Mwconn correctly detects the host tier-1 3G UMTS network (Optus) and it's configured with the correct APN (VirginBroadband) and network ID (50502) but it will not establish a connection giving the ubiquitous error 619

I've double-checked all the settings and they're the same between both systems. Unless I've made a typo which I'm not seeing due to late-evening dislexia (!), things should work find with mwconn and the e169 on either system.

Is there some sort of function within the e169 itself perhaps that allows it to know it's not being controlled via it's default program (the Virgin broadband customised Huawei default application and driver) but is instead being controlled by a different application? I can use it happily with both mwconn and the Huawei app on the other system, but not my desktop one.

Craig.
Craig Dewick in Wollombi/Laguna, NSW .au
Using MWconn with Panasonic 'Toughbook' systems

sunrk
Beiträge: 5
Registriert: Do 4. Jun 2009, 09:14
Wohnort: Wollombi/Laguna, NSW .au

Re: v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von sunrk » Fr 24. Feb 2012, 11:25

Just one quick thought. I believe on my CF18 I'm still running v5.6, while on the CF29 I have v5.7. Are there any issues with saving the APN string in v5.7 when the config program is exited and the new settings are saved?

Craig.
Craig Dewick in Wollombi/Laguna, NSW .au
Using MWconn with Panasonic 'Toughbook' systems

Benutzeravatar
Hammergott
Beiträge: 574
Registriert: Do 17. Dez 2009, 02:12
Wohnort: 25524/Schleswig-Holstein

Re: v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von Hammergott » Sa 25. Feb 2012, 09:17

Moved to English area!

Have a look at top of Page at the red Box, follow the Link,

create a Servilog and Post it!

Regards

Hammergott
Home: FRITZ!Box 7530 (UI)
Mobil: ZTE MF667
Home: 1&1 DSL 50
Mobil: T-Mobile
Möge der Hammergott mit Euch sein!

AndrewTW
Beiträge: 2
Registriert: Mi 14. Mär 2012, 15:44

Re: v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von AndrewTW » Mi 14. Mär 2012, 16:41

I have the same issue but using an Ericsson F5521gw in an Acer 255 netbook on Optus prepaid. (I know the APN is 'internet' from using the same SIM in my tablet)

Error 619 happens with the Win 7 DUN connection and with MWconn I get the error 633 and 756 after that. Ive attached the servilog.

(I also noticed that if I choose to show the terminal window with the DUN connection I get a bunch of garbage characters)
Dateianhänge
servilog.txt
(8.33 KiB) 233-mal heruntergeladen

lagoon
Beiträge: 1782
Registriert: So 21. Sep 2008, 22:01

Re: v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von lagoon » Mi 14. Mär 2012, 19:50

Try COM5 (or COM3) and not COM4! COM4 is the modem and must not be used for status information exchange by MWconn! In case this will not work, post a new servilog ... ;)

AndrewTW
Beiträge: 2
Registriert: Mi 14. Mär 2012, 15:44

Re: v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von AndrewTW » Do 15. Mär 2012, 12:40

Thanks for advice lagoon. That kinda makes sense but is this set on the 'Device' tab under 'Serial port'?
Because if I change that then MWconn cannot find the modem and, for example, I can only perform the Netlock check when I manually select COM4.

lagoon
Beiträge: 1782
Registriert: So 21. Sep 2008, 22:01

Re: v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von lagoon » Do 15. Mär 2012, 21:33

Set COM5 as serial port on the device tab and show here a new servilog! Do the same for COM4; NONE - this means single port mode, which is unfortunately much less comfortable ... :shock: BTW: Make sure, that Mobile Broadband Core Service and WWAN Service are set as deactivated!

noomi
Beiträge: 1
Registriert: Do 27. Sep 2012, 07:10

Re: v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von noomi » Do 27. Sep 2012, 07:15

So the error is related to the submission of the message in PDU format. I'm going to look online for resources about translating my message in PDU just to verify if the message is correct even if I'm pretty sure it is. Meanwhile any other suggestion is wellcome...

lagoon
Beiträge: 1782
Registriert: So 21. Sep 2008, 22:01

Re: v5.7 with Huawei e169 in Virgin/Optus network

Beitrag von lagoon » Do 27. Sep 2012, 08:39

:?:

Antworten