Run with no icon?

Support for usage of MWconn
Forumsregeln
In most fault cases it is necessary to create a Service Log
Antworten
deesloop
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Fr 12. Nov 2010, 08:40

Run with no icon?

Beitrag von deesloop » Fr 12. Nov 2010, 09:28

I want to use MWConn to initiate a dialup for the Cisco VPN
However I want it to run without an icon.
Does anyone know if this is possible?

Thanks alot

Benutzeravatar
Hammergott
Beiträge: 574
Registriert: Do 17. Dez 2009, 02:12
Wohnort: 25524/Schleswig-Holstein

Re: Run with no icon?

Beitrag von Hammergott » Fr 12. Nov 2010, 16:39

Hello deesloop,

run MWconn as Windows-Service! Please read manual for

how-to! ;)

Regards

Hammergott
Home: FRITZ!Box 7530 (UI)
Mobil: ZTE MF667
Home: 1&1 DSL 50
Mobil: T-Mobile
Möge der Hammergott mit Euch sein!

deesloop
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Fr 12. Nov 2010, 08:40

Re: Run with no icon?

Beitrag von deesloop » Mo 15. Nov 2010, 11:57

Hi Thanks for that,
Yes that sort of works, MWConn runs as a service fine
I've told it to run UMTSGPRS however this doesn't do what I expect.

I had thought that the service would sit there looking for a modem
Then when one is plugged in it connects. Then when the lines drops or user
remoevs the modem, MWconn notices the line is gone and kills of the connection.
This hsould leave the service to run and continue monitoring.

This doesn't happen.
I have to manually go and start the service to get any connections ever.
It's set to automatic but never starts. Then when I start it the connection
fires up just fine. If I kill the connection manually then it restarts it.

However once I pull the modem out the service pauses and stay paused
I plug a modem back in and the service doesn't resume. I manually resume and it
justs sits at resuming.

This is for my end users who do not have local admin rights to play with services.

Benutzeravatar
Hammergott
Beiträge: 574
Registriert: Do 17. Dez 2009, 02:12
Wohnort: 25524/Schleswig-Holstein

Re: Run with no icon?

Beitrag von Hammergott » Mo 15. Nov 2010, 12:25

Sorry, i dont use MWconn as a service, so i cant help you anymore. :oops:

Im not sure, if MWconn is able to fulfill your "special" needs, like permanent

monitoring with/without connected Modem etc. We have to wait for other

peoples opinions, especially from Opilionn (Program-Writer)!

Regards

Hammergott
Home: FRITZ!Box 7530 (UI)
Mobil: ZTE MF667
Home: 1&1 DSL 50
Mobil: T-Mobile
Möge der Hammergott mit Euch sein!

deesloop
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Fr 12. Nov 2010, 08:40

Re: Run with no icon?

Beitrag von deesloop » Mo 15. Nov 2010, 13:15

Ah well I guess I'll have to wait

I had though the point of a service was to run in the background, but it's just sitting at paused the whole time.
Unless it can check for a modem, I don't see the point in having the ability to run it as a service, however that
is probably down to my inability to think of a use for it in those specific circumstances.

I wish I could get it check for a modem and if it's not got one just wiat till one arrives then dial.

If MArkus is about maybe he can advise whether it's just not do-able
Or am I missing a way to config it to work this way...

Cheers

Opilionn
Administrator
Beiträge: 719
Registriert: Sa 26. Jul 2008, 18:25

Re: Run with no icon?

Beitrag von Opilionn » Di 16. Nov 2010, 17:55

Hello deesloop,

I'm sorry to hear that it did not work correctly.
Did you try to control the service by using of CONTROL.exe? Maybe a service log could provide us with more detailed information:
http://www.mwconn.info/wiki/index.php/Service_log

Markus

deesloop
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Fr 12. Nov 2010, 08:40

Re: Run with no icon?

Beitrag von deesloop » Mi 17. Nov 2010, 12:39

What I have at the moment is BT Access Manager. Users fire this up and the software detects whats connected.
If no modem is detected nothing happens, and you get a red icon to indicate no connections. If you plug a modem
in it detects the modem type and asks "Do you want to connect". Thats what I want rid of. It should just dial.

Basically I want the service to run in the background and if it finds a 3G stick then dial the connection and
fire up the vpn by running c:\program files\cisco\cisco systems\ipsecdialer -c rjmcleod

At the moment with your software as a service if I boot a PC without a dongle attached then the service doesnt
start It just sits there, either at paused or stopped. I then plug in a modem and nothing happens, Fire up Control,
MWconn is not active. Windows has detected the modem and shows available on port X. However the MWConn
service still has still not started. Manually start the service and connection dials OK, however because it's a service
on Win 7, the VPN connection isnt fired up - no interaction with desktop. Not your fault I know. But still Grrrrr.

Pull out modem, connection is terminated, mwconn service sits at paused. MWcontrol starts looking for a modem
then states MWConn not running. Service pauses then stops. Plug modem back in, windows detects, mwconn service
sitting at not started and control say MWconn not running.

So for me the service isn't working.. It dies if there is no modem attached and due to Vista/Win7 security nothing
fired up by the service can be used. There is no point in going down the serviec route for me for that reason.

So I'm back to using GPRSUMTS which has an icon. This lets end users fiddle and break things. If there was no icon
then that would be handiest for me. Or at least if there was no right click menu options other than connect/disconnect,
then that would be almost as handy. I guess I could just put UMTSGPRS and mwconn.ini in the directory to get rid of the
config but there are still t0o many options for them to tamper with.

Is it possible to run without an icon or restrict the menu to connect/disconect? It would be a fairly simple step
to strip out many of the menu options, but no doubt these are used by many folk, so if there was a commandline
switch that would be great. You have NOSPLASH, you could add NOICON or NOMENU or SMALLMENU. Something like that.

I wont upload the logs because the service isn't suitable but if anyone could help that would be great.

deesloop
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Fr 12. Nov 2010, 08:40

Re: Run with no icon?

Beitrag von deesloop » Mi 17. Nov 2010, 13:02

Control might be a solution but I cant seem to get it to work.
I've added the domain\user to the IPC section on mwconn
However it still says insufficent access.
I've tried ALL USERS but that didnt work either
How do I use control?
Can I create a shortcut to control.exe /connect or seimthing?

Antworten